Any chess player in here?

Fernando Lopes

Fernando Lopes

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
BR
Chips
I have a theory that poker players generally do well on a chess board. Both require patience and concentration.šŸ¤“

I was excited about the chess.com Players League, I managed to get to the crystal league, but I ended up getting discouraged, I wasn't able to evolve in my tactics and end games skill, I started playing without concentration and losing many matches.

If anyone wants to play a game, my id on chess.com is OGatoWagner. (Wagner is my cat and he's adorable). šŸ±

Jim Rivas

Jim Rivas

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hi Fernando, you are absolutely right here, every poker player uses your skills and mental abilities the same in chess and, just like you, I also like to practice chess and in order not to get bored, I always play a little chess and that is how I keep my thinking about different strategies and tactics just like poker. In chess there are also, I am between those two games and others like dominoes to keep my mind active and get out of the routine of always playing Poker. Greetings to your cat Wagner.

BetterThanAvgButNotByMuch

BetterThanAvgButNotByMuch

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I tried it playing it as a kid and didn't take it serious. I wasn't good and once I realized the amount of studying for openings and endgames to get better then I stopped.

Chess seems a lot more specific with situations than poker and being able to recognize those variations like the openings and endgames and things like knowing how to mate your opponent with certain pieces in the endgame is more involved than most poker situations like playing a hand where its raised big time and you have some bad hand like 62, lol.

Poker is less involved and you can get out a lot of spots in poker without having to know the counter moves in chess.