Is playing Poker an investment?

louuu19

louuu19

Rock Star
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I've been playing poker for fur for 5 years, now that I have a job I think about raising stakes and invest some money in poker, is that a good idea?

finaltable1

finaltable1

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
keep in mind that life isn't a never ending process and time is a major investment tool.

bullishwwd

bullishwwd

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
Never lose sight of good "balance" in your life and the "opportunity cost" of your time playing poker. How you live your life and the time devoted to different things, in fact, is an investment. Shouldn't one at least consider "diversification" as part of any investment style? Good luck with your decision.

TeUnit

TeUnit

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Poker is very similar to investments.

You have expect value in both, you have ROI in both, and you have risk of ruin in both.

There is a reason you see so many accountants and investment professionals playing poker.

okeedokalee

okeedokalee

Glory To Ukraine
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
NZ
Chips
Do you have enough money to service your day to day living expenses. Remember only the top 5% make money from this game. Do you you think you are the equivalent of an IM or GM chess player. That is what the top professionals in poker have have reached.
Keep your job and be happy playing poker for leisure. Don't get sucked down the rabbit hole. These sharks will gobble you up.

Igor G

Igor G

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
UA
Chips
I've been playing poker for fur for 5 years, now that I have a job I think about raising stakes and invest some money in poker, is that a good idea?
Whether this is a good idea depends on your skills and your income level. This might be a good idea if you've had good results before.

recerveau

recerveau

Visionary
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips